Green Flag Drops for NASCAR on FOX’s 12th Season Saturday @ 8PM ET


Green Flag Drops for NASCAR on FOX’s 12th Season

Primetime Coverage of the Budweiser Shootout Saturday & Daytona 500 Qualifying Sunday

McReynolds: “Bud Shootout Sets Tone For Great Season”


NASCAR ON FOX BEGINS 12TH SEASON SATURDAY WITH 34TH ANNUAL BUDWEISER SHOOTOUT IN PRIMETIMEA deep and talented field hits the Daytona International Speedway as Tony Stewart’s quest for back-to-back championships gets underway Saturday, Feb. 18 (8:00 PM ET) at the Budweiser Shootout.  The network airs Daytona 500 Qualifying Sunday, Feb. 19 (1:00 PM ET).

NASCAR on FOX host Chris Myers and analyst Darrell Waltrip provide Bud Shootout prerace coverage with up-to-the-second reports and live interviews with drivers, crews and officials shaping the night’s action. FOX Sports’ Jeff Hammond serves as the network’s roving analyst taking fans from the garages to pit road and everywhere in between.  Once the green flag drops, race announcer Mike Joy is alongside analysts Waltrip and Larry McReynolds to call all the twists and turns on the track while Dick Berggren, Steve Byrnes, Krista Voda and Matt Yocum patrol the pits for reports on teams and pit stops.

MCREYNOLDS: ANTICIPATION BUILDING FOR BUDWEISER SHOOTOUT – “It’s going to be one of the largest fields we’ve ever had.  It’s almost like an All-Star race at Daytona because it’s the top 25 drivers from last year and any other driver who has ever won a points event at Daytona or a Budweiser Shootout, which would include Trevor Bayne and Jamie McMurray,” said McReynolds.  We’re going to see speeds well over 200 MPH and the drivers are going to be in big packs of racing 3- and 4-wide.  Even though it’s a 75 lap race, we probably won’t have a clue who is going to win until they come off the last corner of the last lap and get close to that checkered flag.”   

Saturday, Feb. 18, 2012


Event                                                                                                      BROADCASTERS                                     TIME

Budweiser Shootout (Daytona International Speedway)         Prerace Host Chris Myers                                    8:00 PM ET

Prerace Analyst Darrell Waltrip


Announcer Mike Joy                             

                                                                                                                Analyst Darrell Waltrip

                                                      Analyst Larry McReynolds

Roving Analyst Jeff Hammond

                                                                                                                Pits Steve Byrnes, Matt Yocum,

Krista Voda, Dick Berggren

Sunday, Feb. 19, 2012


Event                                                                                                      BROADCASTERS                                    TIME

Daytona 500 Qualifying (Daytona International Speedway)  Announcer Mike Joy                                 1:00 PM ET                         

                                                                                                                Analyst Darrell Waltrip

                                                      Analyst Larry McReynolds

                                                                                                                Pits Jeff Hammond, Steve Byrnes, Matt Yocum,

Krista Voda, Dick Berggren

Below are drivers scheduled to compete in Saturday’s Budweiser Shootout:

Jamie McMurray (No. 1 – Earnhardt Ganassi Racing – Chevrolet)

Brad Keselowski (No. 2 – Penske Racing – Dodge)

Kasey Kahne (No. 5 – Hendrick Motorsports – Chevrolet)

Marcos Ambrose (No. 9 – Richard Petty Motorsports – Ford)

Denny Hamlin (No. 11 – Joe Gibbs Racing – Toyota)

Tony Stewart (No. 14 – Stewart-Haas Racing – Chevrolet)

Clint Bowyer (No. 15 – Michael Waltrip Racing – Toyota)

Greg Biffle (No. 16 – Roush Fenway Racing – Ford)

Matt Kenseth (No. 17 – Roush Fenway Racing – Ford)

Kyle Busch (No. 18 – Joe Gibbs Racing – Toyota)

Joey Logano (No. 20 – Joe Gibbs Racing – Toyota)

AJ Allmendinger (No. 22 – Penske Racing – Dodge)

Jeff Gordon (No. 24 – Hendrick Motorsports – Chevrolet)

Paul Menard (No. 27 – Richard Childress Racing – Chevrolet)

Kevin Harvick (No. 29 – Richard Childress Racing – Chevrolet)

Jeff Burton (No. 31 – Richard Childress Racing – Chevrolet)

David Ragan (No. 34 – Front Row Motorsports – Ford)

Ryan Newman (No. 39 – Stewart-Haas Racing – Chevrolet)

Juan Pablo Montoya (No. 42 – Earnhardt Ganassi Racing – Chevrolet)

Jimmie Johnson (No. 48 – Hendrick Motorsports – Chevrolet)

Kurt Busch (No. 51 – Phoenix Racing – Chevrolet)

Michael Waltrip (No. 55 – Michael Waltrip Racing – Toyota)

Martin Truex Jr. (No. 56 – Michael Waltrip Racing – Toyota)

Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 88 – Hendrick Motorsports – Chevrolet)

Carl Edwards (No. 99 – Roush Fenway Racing – Ford)


GATORADE DUEL AT DAYTONA HEADLINES 100 HOURS OF SPEEDWEEKS ON SPEED™ SPEED opens its extensive Daytona Speedweeks programming lineup Thursday, Feb. 16 (6:00 PM ET) with reports from Media Day on a special live two-hour edition of NASCAR Race Hub. NASCAR Race Hub, which enjoyed a 27% ratings increase in 2011, goes live from Daytona on Feb. 20-22, with Steve Byrnes hosting, Danielle Trotta reporting and analysis from Larry McReynolds, Randy Pemberton and Matt Clark.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series cars take to the track the following day for the first Budweiser Shootout practice session and SPEED brings viewers the Budweiser Shootout Selection Show on Friday, Feb. 17 (8:30 PM ET).


On Thursday, Feb. 23 (2:00 PM ET), SPEED is live from the Gatorade Duel at Daytona as drivers battle for the final spots on the Daytona 500 starting grid. Krista Voda and Jeff Hammond host, with the NASCAR on FOX team of Darrell Waltrip, Larry McReynolds and Mike Joy calling the action and Byrnes, Dick Berggren and Matt Yocum reporting from the pits.

See Full Daytona Speedweeks on SPEED Schedule Here:

Leave a Reply