CBC’S Hockey Night In Canada Returns For Its 60th Season On Saturday, January 19

HNIC_60th_CMYK_print_horizontalCBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA RETURNS FOR ITS 60TH SEASON ON SATURDAY, JANUARY 19

The puck drops on the new season with Ottawa @ Winnipeg (3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT) followed by Toronto @ Montreal (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT) and Anaheim @ Vancouver (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)

January 12, 2013CBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA is ready to hit the ice for its 60th season beginning Saturday, January 19 with 49 games on the schedule. CBC gives viewers the best seat in the house to catch the best games, marquee players and is the exclusive home of the Stanley Cup Final.

“Canadians have missed their game, and we’ve missed bringing it to them. We look forward to the return of the teams and the players, and CBC will be there as they drop the puck,” said Kirstine Stewart, Executive Vice President, English Services, CBC.

CBC hosts the biggest hockey night of the week where appointment viewing and fan engagement take center stage. This season’s schedule includes 10 Original Six pairings and rivalry games featuring Toronto/Montreal, Edmonton/Calgary, Ottawa/Toronto, and Montreal/Boston. Eighteen all-Canadian match-ups also highlight the schedule including three that anchor a full day of coverage on Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada on February 9.

CBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA’s season gets underway with Ottawa @ Winnipeg at 3 p.m. ET (12 p.m. PT). CBC will have simultaneous live coverage of select moments from the official Stanley Cup banner raising in Los Angeles between 3-3:30 p.m. ET (12-12:30pm PT). Coverage continues with a CBC-exclusive concert event live from Montreal as Scotiabank Hockey Tonight returns at 6:30 p.m. ET (3:30 p.m. PT), followed by Toronto @ Montreal at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT). Wrapping up the night is Anaheim @ Vancouver at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT).
Hockey Night in Canada Punjabi presented by Chevrolet returns every Saturday night with double-header action.

“We’re thrilled to be able to share the tradition of Hockey Night in Canada with the nation once again this year,” said Jeffrey Orridge, Executive Director, Sports Properties, CBC.

Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada is back for its 13th year. Ron Maclean and Don Cherry celebrate the Day from Peterborough, Ontario, when all seven Canadian teams will be in action. The Under the Lock Hockey Tournament on the Trent Canal and the OHL game between the Peterborough Petes game and the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds will provide the background for the day. Lloydminster, AB/SK will host the five-day celebration in 2014.

“This will be Hockey Night in Canada’s 60th season and we can’t wait to celebrate with our viewers in interactive and engaging ways,” said Julie Bristow, Executive Director, Studio and Unscripted Programming, English Services, CBC.

Fans can connect with CBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA online, through Twitter (#HockeyNight) and Facebook and with the Hockey Night in Canada app for iOS and Windows 8.

Further details of CBC’S HOCKEY NIGHT IN CANADA’s programming elements and celebrations surrounding the 60th season will be announced in the coming days.

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada’s national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, Internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages, plus five languages for international audiences. In 2011, CBC/Radio-Canada celebrated 75 years of serving Canadians and being at the centre of the democratic, social and cultural life of Canada.

-30-

About CBC’s Brand New In-House Publicity Team
CBC’s brand new team of in-house publicists are delivering a comprehensive publicity service for all CBC programming and events.  For a complete list of publicity contacts and for more information including series synopses, press releases, hi-res images, video clips and bios, please visit the new CBC Media Centre at cbc.ca/mediacentre

 

Leave a Reply